Ind vs SL, Asia Cup: How Dasun Shanaka survived, despite being running out? What does rulebook say? Explain
Sri Lanka Dasun Shanaka has escaped a clear result due to a technical point in the rules of cricket in a dramatic super ear during the Super Fours competition against India in Dubai on September 27, 2025. His dismissal caused fierce discussions among fans and experts. Here is all you need to know about the incident and details from the rulebook of cricket. What happened during the Super Over? The drama unfolded on the fourth ball of Sri Lanka’s Super Over, by Indian Arshdeep Singh. Shanaka, with a high pressure situation, was judged by the referee on the field after a confident appeal from the Indian side. Wicketkeeper Sanju Samson, quick to respond, threw the ball forearm to the stumps while Shanaka tried a bee. However, the non-stitcher showed no interest in running, and Shanaka left visibly short of his crease when the stumps were broken. Replays clearly showed Shanaka outside his land, but the initial decision caught paved the way for an unexpected turn. Sri Lanka chose for a review, and the third referee overturned the call that was trapped and decided that the ball did not contact Shanaka’s bat. However, what seemed like a simple outcome was void due to a lesser -known rule. The Rule Book: Why Dasun Shanaka survived is up! According to MCC’s cricket laws, specifically Rule 20.1.1.3, a ball is considered “death” at the moment a batter is rejected by the referee on the field. The rule reads: “The ball will be considered death of the moment of the incident that causes the dismissal.” Since referee Shanaka initially left behind, the ball was considered dead at that point, which delivered any subsequent action, such as the run -off attempt. Rule 3.7.1 further states: “As a result of a request for a request to review a player, an original decision of Out is changed to not, then the ball is still considered dead when the original decision was made.” This meant that although Shanaka was clearly not of his fold, the run could not stand because the ball was no longer in the game after the initial discharge call. The aftermath: Sri Lanka’s super ear struggled despite the postponement, Shanaka’s survival was short -lived. At the very next ball he was rejected, and Sri Lanka spent 2 for 2 in their super ear. The controversial decision made little to change the result, as India used the low target to ensure the win.